top of page

modern - home - travel - & more

  • Writer's pictureMegan P.

Flooring: all about the statement

Updated: Mar 7, 2018


- this is the end result of choices... with the flooring we picked out months prior for the rest of the home.



When my hubs and I were heading to Floor and Decor - we literally had no clue, well I had no clue what I wanted. Part of me wanted to keep it trendy and the other part of me wanted to keep it simple and maybe let the backsplash pop.

Design with a POP


A pattern goes a long way. Even if the flooring is pretty basic, you can make a bold statement with a pattern. That's when we decided to go with herringbone, a classic and a favorite!

We ended up in every single isle waiting for the right flooring to come to us, when I noticed a marble 6x12 and I remember saying to my husband, "man, that would look killer in our Master Bath"... he just said... no, the kitchen!


Guys, this is why I married him... YES! "Marble" kitchen flooring... and he ended with "herringbone". He whose never done tile work, minus a bathroom in our last home... Oh, okay! But can you? Of course he can... he's Randy!


So as we were looking at grout and sqft, I wanted to just see if they had new flooring, or at least the flooring we chose about 3 months prior. They did... ON SALE! This is exactly why I shop at Floor and Decor, we just have *knock on wood good luck.


We ended up leaving spending a few grand, but we have tile and laminate for the house. Huge success. After deciding that the next weekend we'd start laying down the tile, which not going to lie, was super stressful. What could possibly go wrong with a herringbone pattern? Everything!

It went pretty smoothly, only a few times did he have a hiccup, but research is key to ANYTHING you're doing for the first time. The process was long, tiring and of course worth it in the end.




The most important part of the flooring was, completing it. We have flooring and now, we can install our IKEA kitchen cabinets. Woot




bottom of page