top of page

modern - home - travel - & more

  • Writer's pictureMegan P.

DIY - Eat In Kitchen Table

#farmhouse style is HUGE right now, and I'll I keep thinking in my head is that this isn't going to last forever, and I'll redecorate my entire house in the next few years! But, then I think - even if this trend "fad" whatever you want to call it goes away... I still LOVE it and I will probably always love it. That being said - As our home renovation - redecoration, whatever you'd like to call it is underway, I go room by room and find a million things that needs to be done.


So I'm huge on lists! If you don't know this, you know this now. I have a legal pad that I just flip and write, with bullet points and notes and I just keep on going down it until their checked off.

With that, our eat in kitchen is up on that list - it's so "Plain Jane" right now that she needs to be completely done over. What better way than a table to start LOL ... my husband is a Let Go App kinda guy. He's on there all the time looking for tools, furniture, or even random shit we don't need... But it helps when I need a pedestal table - one solid piece. Those are the exact instructions I give to him, he shows me what he finds and BOOM - We picked up this gem for $30 bucks.


I like the fact that it matched my dining in the "formal" room... not so much the color as the top of it. (I'd show you, but I have a Disney puzzle going on right now haha)


--------> below is the dining room table we purchased [$30] and then the paint supplies we paid $15 bucks! I needed a top color that wasn't going to be perfect, I was going for the charm of the age and scuff look.



She's about 6 feet in diameter, which is bigger than I wanted - but it works! & my hubs got started right away with sanding her down in our driveway. I am just ready to put her in the eat in and start hanging up my decorations [need shelving first!! - also the husbands job].


We chose the bottom to be white, flat white - and I bought Gildden interior flat base 1 paint. I had the store shake it up and was good to go... the top we decided to go with the Rust-oleum Charcoal Gray Chalk paint. It took a few coats on top, but it dried fairly quickly. The bottom however is taking up forever... I guess if anything I would have definitely done the paint and primer in one... so if you're planning on redoing a table or anything really... go with something with more coverage. After this table is complete I'll post my after ... :)



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page