top of page

modern - home - travel - & more

  • Writer's pictureMegan P.

Kitchen 101: the wall of doom

Updated: Mar 7, 2018

"The thought of a kitchen remodel scared the shit out of me, until I was in the middle of ripping out the teal countertops"



Hey Guys! Well here I am discussing the forever changing, forever working, forever everything kitchen model. We initially bought this house knowing this kitchen was a wreck. It was closed off, no counter top space due to the lack of cabinet placement and of course the ever so teal, counter tops.


At first, the whole process sounded great. We just needed to take out the entire thing and start from scratch. No big deal, after watching all these remodeling shows on HGTV, and of course in my head, everything is easy until we're in it. But, this all being said about how scared I was, we did it. And honestly, it wasn't as bad as I anticipated.


Of course, the demolition was... fun! We even made mimosa's for the occasion - which helps anyone that needs some motivation. We ripped out the cabinets, by we, my husband did. Took out the nasty teal countertops & removed all the appliances and sink... and boom our kitchen was empty. But looking below, you'll see the wall... the wall that blocks your social life. The wall that allows you to miss the most important part of the show you are watching. The wall of ... doom. With my husband being so handy, he took his hacksaw out and tore it down. I took a boomerang for the occasion... (see how handy I am).




If your thinking of remodeling, and you have a stubborn wall - first, make sure it's not low bearing and get that shit out of there. Now, I have a kitchen, maybe a cabinet less (but actually not at all... read my post about how to make more storage in a small kitchen) than I wanted, but it LOOKS and feels amazing. Airy and open is the key to the best open space concept you can have.


- Megan





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page