top of page

modern - home - travel - & more

  • Writer's pictureMegan P.

Not a "Barn Door" - But a "Barn Gate"

Ah ha! While Randy is enjoying his time building everything for us with all of his wood working equipment I must say, he is the one with most of the ideas! I say I want a table, door, or even a frame he comes up (most of the time) with his idea. Well we hate bifold doors, to say the least. So we had to come up with an alternative. The door to the laundry room has no room on either side for a barn door, so he did some research and came up with a barn style door... but with hinges... so like, a gate!


I was in awe with this idea and I didn't want it to come out bad or too rustic. I love this farmhouse style but I am not too keen on the super rustic or old and I don't mind white and clean. He said he'd paint the door WHITE and use black hardware, like our kitchen which is literally next to the laundry room.


After he ran into Home Depot grabbed the lumbar and the hinges he began his working in the garage. I must say for him being so new at this, his ideas and the way his work comes out is amazing. He said he paid under $100 all said and done with wood, paint, materials and of course the hardware. Which is certainly cheaper than most of the doors to buy. Plus is was an odd size... so finding the door would have been a little more complicated than I would like.


So #farmhouseDIY was a success. Overall we spent two days or so on this... but not consecutively. That'd be silly... So as #farmhouse inspiration or #farmhouseinspiration to a #barndoorgate here ya have it...


- Hope you enjoy as much as I do


Megan P

** don't mind the no baseboards and nothing else around the door... I was just so excited to show you guys. Once this is completely cute I'll retake a pic and post it on my IG @farmchicblog **

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page